Zoning Information


The City is divided into different zoning districts which are specifically delineated areas in which regulations and requirements uniformly govern the use, placement, spacing, and size of land and buildings. The Unified Zoning Regulations outline the requirements associated with each district and define the designated zoning districts. We administer the City Zoning Regulations for the City of Billings and Yellowstone County’s zoning jurisdiction. We also administer Special Zoning Districts including the Town of Broadview. 

The Planning Division also reviews Fence Permit applications, Zoning Clarification requests, Master Site Plan, Temporary Use Permits, Zoning Compliance Permits and Sign Permits for the City and County within the Zoning Jurisdictional area.

Special Zoning Districts

 District 12  District 17
 District 14  District 18
 District 15  District 20
 District 16  Broadview